Brandon Johnson Wins Wausau; Holds Slim Lead In TRL Cup Results

Brandon Johnson TLR Cup
Brandon Johnson TLR Cup

Wausau, Wisconsin January 30, 2012: – The chase for the 2012 TLR Cup Championship is getting interesting, especially for members of Wahl Brothers Racing of Greenbush, Minnesota. Since the season opener in Amherst, Wisconsin, Wahl drivers have dominated the series going undefeated in the first three rounds with Brandon Johnson leading the charge to the checkered flag posting two-cup victories.

That said, Johnson leads the points standings by a very slim margin over four-time World Champion P.J. Wanderscheid — this points race is far from over.

Driving a Wahl/Polaris Camp 440 Johnson held off Ski-Doo speedster Malcolm Chartier of Fair Haven, Michigan, at the 2012 edition of the Flip 525 in Wausau. Travis Macdonald of Gonor, Manitoba, rounded out the top three on a Ski-Doo.

Overall the 2011/2012 race season has been an incredible ride for Wahl Brothers Racing. In the oval racing season opener in Beausejour, Manitoba, on December 3 & 4, Brandon Johnson ruled Pro Champ 440. He cruised to the checkered in both days of competition. Next up at the TLR Cup opener in Amherst, Wisconsin January 7, Dustin Wahl of Greenbush, Minnesota, proved he had what it takes to challenge for the Cup Championship as he captured the checkered flag under the lights over 2011 Eagle River World Champion P.J. Wanderschied at the annual Portage County Ice War’s.

Wahl’s teammate Brandon Johnson was not so lucky in Amherst, he was involved a three sled accident including Gary Moyle and Matt Ritchie early on in the final. The accident put an end to his weekend of racing and left his machine beyond repair.

Switching to the sled he ran in 2011, Johnson struck back in Eagle River. Fighting off below zero temperatures and poor visibility due to ice dust Johnson came on in the closing laps with a spectacular win over Nick Van Strydonk of Tomahawk, Wisconsin, in the Friday Night Thunder TLR Cup Final.

In Wausau it was all Brandon Johnson, who took an early lead and never looked back as he roared to victory to claim his second straight TLR Cup victory of the season. Johnson’s win moved him into a tie with Wanderscheid for the points lead — if one only includes the results of the finals. Better finishes in qualifying, however, have Johnson a very slim 2 points ahead of Wanderscheid. Chartier who finished second in the standing in 2011 is just 15 points out of the hunt on his Houle-built Ski-Doo. Defending TRL Cup champion Gary Moyle is seventh in the standings. Van Strydonk went out early in the final in Wausau due to a minor crash.

The next stop on the TLR Cup series will be in Weyauwega, Wisconsin, February 12 & 13. Due to mild weather the race in Ogilvie, Minnesota on February 3, 4 & 5, has been postponed.

Started by businessman Tommy Lipar in 2011, the TLR Cup is a six race series across four associations for the Pro-Champ class. The TLR Cup features a $100,000 plus total series payout.

To learn more about the TLR Cup visit their website at

TLR Cup Results
TLR Cup Results



JANUARY 30, 2012

1. Brandon Johnson #22 Greenbush, MN – Wahl / Polaris

2. Malcolm Chartier #33 Fair Haven, MI – ski-doo

3. Travis Macdonald #8 Gonor, Manitoba – ski-doo

4. Cardell Potter #58 Camp Douglas. WI – ski-doo

5. PJ Wanderscheid #28 Sauk Centre, MN – Arctic Cat


6. Gary Moyle #66 Houghton, MI – Arctic Cat

7. Gunnar Sterne #220 West Chicago, Ill – Polaris

8. Trevor Fontaine #3 Webster, WI – Arctic Cat

9. Joel Diamond #02 Lapeer, MI – ski-doo

10. Brian Bewcyk #39 Winnepeg, MB Canada – ski-doo


TLR Cup Standings:

1. Brandon Johnson, 221 points

2. PJ Wanderscheid, 219 points

3. Malcolm Chartier, 206 points

4. Nick Van Strydonk, 188 points

5. Dustin Wahl, 155 points

6. Travis Macdonald, 150 points

7. Gary Moyle, 131 points

8. Matt Schulz, 116 points

9. Ryan Kniskern, 106 points

10. Cardell Potter, 74 points

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *