Chartier Wins, Earns Back Top Points Spot In Big Money TLR Cup Series



TLR Cup Sees New Venue & New Winners

(February 11, 2015) – Last Sunday the TLR Cup Pro Championship Series set up for one day of racing at the 141 Speedway in Francis Creek, Wisconsin. A new venue on the series tour, the one-third mile track, surrounded by grandstands and amenities sure to please any race fan, offered some of the tightest racing of the season. In Round #7 of the nine round series, point’s leaders changed once again and some new drivers earned wins.

In the Pro Champ ranks, it was Malcolm Chartier who qualified in the number one spot for the feature. Eager to take back the number one points position from Cardell Potter, who asserted himself there after dominating performances both days in Alexandria, Minnesota, Chartier was on a mission. Per usual, Chartier was fast off the line but was flanked by hard chargers. Matt Schulz, who has been a consistent podium finisher all season but who hasn’t won a race since Round #1, was close behind him. Potter, who arrived at the track Saturday night after finishing sixth in the Soo I-500 enduro race in Michigan, fell in behind Schulz.


snowmobile oval racing
Malcolm Chartier leads Matt Schulz in tight oval racing at Francis Creek, Wisconsin. Image courtsey Brad Malmgren Photography.

With the shorter track keeping things close, the rest of the field jockeyed back and forth for position, and at times raced three deep around the oval. Ultimately, no changes in the top three would be made, and Jordan Wahl and Blaine Stephenson, earning his best TLR Cup finish in his rookie Pro Champ season, made up the top five. With that, Chartier reclaimed his spot at the top of the point’s rankings, with Potter 19 points behind in second, followed by Schulz, Nick Van Strydonk and Joey Fjerstad.

On the vintage side of things, Paul Drefenthaler took the win in TLR Cup #2 Super Mod 440 FA/LQ, with Brandon Grentz and Tom Olson finishing behind him, in that order. Matt Bennett took his second TLR Cup #2 Super Stock 440 win of the season, as he and Mark Joski raced head to head in a two-man feature.

Aaron Rudder was the victor in TLR Cup #4 Super Mod 340 FA/LC. Tom Olson earned his second podium finish of the day by taking second, and Jim Zierden finished third. In TLR Cup #5 Super Stock 340 FA/LC, the last vintage TLR feature of the day, Clinton Gumieny and John Jacobson would face off and battle for postion. In the end, Gumieny took the checkered.

The final two rounds of the TLR Cup Pro Championship Series will take place this weekend in Weyauwega, Wisconsin. It is there that drivers will have one last shot to give it their all and earn valuable points; with the Pro Champ points leader taking home a check for $25,000.

For more information, visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *