Polaris Snocross Team Signs New Drivers

June 24, 2009

Robbie Malinoski at the Duluth ISOC National last fall.
Scheuring Speed Sports has signed pro drivers Robbie Malinoski and Andrew Johnstad, each to a two-year deal.

Malinoski won both WSA pro points championships in 2005-06, but since then has won just two finals. Johnstad won both semi-pro points titles in 2007-08, and last season was his first as a pro.

“Andrew had a couple of top 5’s last year, no podiums,” team owner Steve Scheuring said. “I think he needs a confidence boost, and Robbie will do some mentoring and help him grow.”

Malinoski was the first racer to win a North American snocross race on four-stroke when he rode a Yamaha for Boss Racing in 2007. In 2008, he won a final for Boss Racing again, this time on a Ski-Doo.

Now that he’ll be on Polaris this season, Scheuring said this, “If Robbie wins …. Wait, when Robbie wins this year, he’ll be the first driver to win a pro race on all four brands.” Both racers will be headquartered at the team’s shop in Aurora, Minn.

Former Scheuring drivers D.J. Eckstrom and Shaun Crapo were released from the team at the end of the 2008-09 season. Scheuring’s sponsors include by Amsoil, Makita, U.S. Air Force, Klim, Jeff Foster Trucking, Woody’s and Goodwin Performance.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *