Snow Goer Cup Inauguration

After the most famous 25 laps in snowmobile racing, Eagle River World Champion Brian Bewcyk was awarded the new, prestigious Snow Goer Cup, a trophy that will be presented to all future Derby champions.

The Eagle River World Championship Snowmobile Derby is a historic celebration of snowmobiling and snowmobile racing. While the Cup is new, the name of this year’s World Champion joined the past champions. The single, traveling trophy features the names of all past winners, engraved on its metal plates. Sponsored by Snow Goer magazine, the new Snow Goer Cup follows the rich history of the winning drivers listed on the retired Snow Week Cup (1993-2007) and the Argosy Cup (1964-1987).

The traditions of the World Championship trophy are very much alive — Bewcyk hoisted the Cup in victory, a tribute to the success on the famous iced oval past and present. Prior to the start of the World Championship race, the Cup was on display on the starting line. Under starter and Snowmobile USA-founder Tom Anderson’s orders, all the drivers touched the Cup for good luck and then began the quest for the most prestigious title in snowmobile oval racing: Eagle River World Championship.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *