Hibbert Breaks Longstanding Blair Morgan Victory Record With Canterbury Win


SHAKOPEE, Minn. (Jan. 3, 2014) – On a bitter cold night with snow blowing sideways and temps reading in the single digits the thousands of core Minnesota motorsports fans that braved the weather at Canterbury Park Raceway witnessed history as Monster Energy/Arctic Cat/Ram racer Tucker Hibbert wrote his name into the Amsoil Championship Snocross, powered by Ram, racing history book with his 85th career Pro Open victory at the Traxxas Nationals, presented by Jimmy John’s

With the victory, he broke a tie with the legendary Blair Morgan (84 wins) and became the most winning snocross racer in history.

The ever-humble Hibbert, flanked by his family, teammates and friends on the podium, was quick to thank his longtime friend and competitor – Morgan – in victory from the top rung of the rostrum.

“Thanks to Blair for pushing me tonight – just like back in the day when I always tried to pass him, it felt the same way tonight,” said Hibbert. “I tried a ‘Superman’ (Morgan’s signature trick victory celebration move) over the finish line and it was horrible, but that was my salute to Blair.”


Joining Hibbert on the Pro Open class podium was Kody Kamm (Hentges Racing/Monster Energy/Polaris) in 2nd and Johan Lidman (Ski-Doo/NSK/Stud Boy) in 3rd. Winning the support Pro Lite class was Andrew Carlson of Polaris Racing/Sportech/PMC.

Pro Open Final

Pulling the Stud Boy Holeshot from the inside No. 1 gate pick, having won both of his qualifiers, and leading the contest wire-to-wire was Hibbert, who kept his undefeated record on the season intact at 5-0. Kamm would show a ski to Hibbert early, on the first turn, but Hibbert would respond by blasting off the back straight triple jump and looking back at Kamm – mid-air – as if to say ‘Not tonight, buddy.’

Tucker Hibbert victory
Tucker Hibbert celebrated his record-breaking snocross victory Friday night.

Hibbert quickly built a three-second lead on Kamm by the third lap, while Tim Tremblay (Amsoil/Scheuring Speed Sport/Ski-Doo) got past Kyle Pallin (Mystic/Polaris/Team LaVallee) and into 3rd place. Rushing up towards the lead pack early was Logan Christian (Arctic Cat/Stud Boy/Speedwerx) and Ross Martin (DuPont/Jack Links/Polaris), going bar-to-bar in a great battle for 4th place before Martin fell off his sled in a wild wreck on lap six.

At the midway point of the 14-lap Pro Open main event, Hibbert was clicking off methodical lap after lap, increasing his lead over Kamm and Tremblay to more than five seconds. The three had spread out and looked to represent the evening’s podium – only to have Tremblay’s sled suffer a mechanical issue and come to a stop on lap 11 (while charging to pass Kamm).

At the white flag Hibbert was up seven seconds on Kamm (2nd) and cruised to the record-breaking victory. Lidman charged the last couple of laps and moved up to 3rd  with Cody Thomsen (Arctic Cat/Speedwerx) and Kyle Pallin rounding out the top five in 4th & 5th, respectively.

Canterbury Friday Pro Open results

1 Tucker Hibbert Monster Energy/Arctic Cat 68 Arctic Cat Pelican Rapids, MN

2 Kody Kamm Hentges Racing 53 Polaris Kenosha, WI

3 Johan Lidman Warnert Racing 52 Ski-Doo Pitea, Sweden

4 Cody Thomsen Arctic Cat 62 Arctic Cat Nisswa, MN

5 Kyle Pallin Team LaVallee 324 Polaris Ironwood, MI

6 Logan Christian Christian Brothers Racing / Drift 43 Arctic Cat Fertile, MN

7 Ross Martin Judnick Motorsports 837 Polaris Burlington, WI

8 Darrin Mees Boss Racing 9 Ski-Doo Stanchfield, MN

9 Justin Broberg Hentges Racing 168 Polaris Mukwonago, WI

10 Levi LaVallee Team LaVallee 108 Polaris Longville, MN

11 Zach Pattyn Stud Boy Racing 99 Ski-Doo Ravenna, MI

12 Petter Narsa Team Jimmy John’s/Ski-doo/Boss Racing 271 Ski-Doo Moskosel

13 Jake Scott Team LaVallee 42 Polaris Port Jefferson Station, NY

14 Tim Tremblay AMSOIL/Air Force/Rockstar 11 Ski-Doo Ste Jeanne D’Arc, Quebec

15 David Joanis Royal Distributing/Christian Brothers Racing 115 Arctic Cat Cochrane (Kokrane)


Pro Lite

Pulling the holeshot and leading the entire race, Andrew Carlson was on a rail on the Canterbury horse race track. The hometown Minnesotan led a field of Polaris sleds that would sweep the podium – another big positive for the Minnesota-based snowmobile manufacturer.

“All of us up here speaks volumes for Polaris,” said Carlson from the top of the podium that also included Leighton Motorsports/Polaris teammates Zak Mason in 2nd and Trevor Leighton in 3rd. “The sleds were rippin’ fast all day long.”

Andrew Carlson snocross
Andrew Carlson continues his impressive start to the 2013-14 snocross season with another victory.

Pursuing Carlson off the start early in the contest were Leighton and teammate Corin Todd, along with week two winner Andrew Lieders (Mystic/Loctite/Polaris). But on lap three Todd came off his sled and Leighton and Mason moved in to 2nd and 3rd. Mason would then bolt past his teammate on the following lap as the white flag flew, setting up his first career podium finish and the all-Polaris podium.

“This is a dream come true,” said an elated Mason on the podium. “I can’t thank my team enough for pushing me to get up here. I’m speechless. Living the dream I guess.”

Canterbury Friday Pro Lite results

1 Andrew Carlson Calrson Motorsports 151 Polaris Big Lake, MN

2 Zak Mason Leighton Motorsports 863 Polaris Gaylord, MI

3 Trevor Leighton Leighton Motorsports 931 Polaris Eagle, ID

4 John Stenberg Team Bauerly Racing 259 Ski-Doo Lofsdalen,

5 Corey Watkinson Watkinson Motorsports, Arctic Cat 173 Arctic Cat Port Carling, Ontario

6 Dylan Hall Royal / Hall Racing 421 Ski-Doo Ayr, Ontario

7 Chase Rosemeyer Team Bauerly Racing 675 Ski-Doo Chippewa Falls, WI

8 Corin Todd Leighton Motorsports  136 Polaris Otego, NY

9 Travis Muller Warnert Racing 436 Ski-Doo Windom, MN

10 Kevin Wallenstein Ingles Performance 122 Ski-Doo Cadillac, MI

11 Lucas Brunelle Damexco Racing 228 Ski-Doo North Hatley, Quebec

12 James Johnstad Judnick Motorsports 154 Polaris Beltrami, MN

13 Korbyn Anderson Team Anderson Racing 179 Ski-Doo Allenton, MI

14 Nick Pattyn Stud Boy Racing 198 Ski-Doo Ravenna, MI

15 Andrew Lieders Team LaVallee 857 Polaris Colby, WI


AMSOIL Championship Snocross, powered by Ram, action continues on Saturday at Canterbury Park (Shakopee, Minn.) Traxxas Snocross, presented by Jimmy John’s, round five of the series.

2013-’14 AMSOIL Championship Snocross, powered by Ram

Round/Date                           City/State

1 – Nov. 29-Dec. 1                  Duluth, Minnesota

2 – Dec. 6-7                            Bessemer, Michigan

3 – Jan. 3-5                              Shakopee, Minnesota

4 – Jan. 31-Feb.1                     Deadwood, South Dakota

5 – Feb. 7-8                             Salamanca, New York

6 – Feb. 21-22                         Mt. Pleasant, Mich.

7 – March 7-8                          Fargo, N.D.

8 – March 14-16                      Lake Geneva, Wisconsin


Beginning with AMSOIL Championship Snocross’ season-opening round in Duluth, Minn. and running through the season finale in Lake Geneva, Wis. CBS Sports Network will air 16 half-hour programs of the ACS races.


Photos courtesy of Lissa Marsolek/ISOC


About ISOC Racing


The International Series of Champions (ISOC) is the premier snowmobile race sanctioning organization in North America and sanctions national AMSOIL Championship Snocross, in addition to affiliating with nine regional circuits. Visit www.isocracing.com for more information, fan and racer memberships, schedule details and more.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *