Afton Hillclimb As Tough As Ever

The Hillclimb in Afton, Wyoming is known as the toughest challenge on the RMSHA circuit. This year was no exception. Multiple crashes marked the event. From Shane Hart’s Polaris rolling end over end down the mountain, to Vinnie Clark doing a handstand over the handlebars of his Ski-Doo, the mountain was nasty.

In the Junior class, Tavren Rupp was the only racer to make it over the top in the finals and he won the Juniors Division.

In Semi-Pros, Landon Archibald on a Arctic Cat took the King title. He won with a time of 42.37 on a stock sled. He won over Braiden Coleman on a mod Arctic Cat by only 0.44 of a second.

In the Pro classes, many of the racers had a great day. Chance Buckallew from Kalispell Montana won 700 and 800 Stock classes and the 600 Improved Stock class. Carson Ellingford won the 600 Stock class and Dolan

Kyle Tapio
Kyle Tapio

Phelps won 1000 Stock. The hometown racer Tyson Thomas won the 700 mod class. Kyle Tapio had the fastest time in the finals with a blistering 33.575 , winning the 800 mod class.

In the Pro Masters class the Sharp Brothers had a one, two punch. Brad taking Pro Masters mod and David winning Pro Masters Stock. David Sharp had the fastest time of the Pro Masters classes with a time of 37.637. Tom Roby from Jackson, Wyoming won the Pro Masters Improved class. All three of the Pro Masters class winners ride for Ski-Doo.

The ladies had a great day. Christy Frisby won the women’s stock class, Amy Zollinger won Women’s Improved Stock and Jan Ottobre won Women’s Mod. All of these ladies ride for Arctic Cat.

Dolan Phelps from Montpelier, Idaho won the Stock King Title on his Polaris. Kyle Tapio, from Battle Ground, Washington took the title of Improved Stock King on his Arctic Cat and Jeremy Osler from Bozeman, Montana won Mod King on his Polaris.

For more photos, visit:

For full race results visit

Next up in hillclimbing is The World Championship Hillclimb in Jackson Hole, Wyoming.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *